“Friend”

Originally posted on eatingdisordersrecoveryblog:

This poem captures the essence of the voice of the eating disorder in the early stages of my recovery.

“Friend”

My friend took me by such surprise

As she looked at me with her silver eyes,

She had always been so kind to me

I never wondered, but now I see

“Wash me in the blood of Christ”

She wept at the sky

Her voice rich with feist

Sounded like thunder

She had wanted to fly

But began to go under

She screamed she was free

(Of me, who lived in her head)

As she left, farther from me

Oh, the things that she said!

I looked at her file

She went on by, I gave her a smile

But I knew she was already dead.

Leave a Reply

