The Gallows

“Labyrinth”

Throughout this maze,
A blind man’s touch,
Patterned with haze,
And feeling too much.

Dark figures abound
In this labyrinth called life,
Many monsters are found,
Like the brute of a wife.

Walls drowning in shadows
And leaking with green
Straight from the gallows,
A madman unseen.

My sorrow is an ogre,
A beast in a cage,
Life living sober,
Is born out of rage.

At first I can’t look
Right into its eyes,
Like politics and crooks,
Its littered with lies.

For I cannot cry
About this story I tell
I think I will die
In this hell I know well.

As my perception grows clearer,
And as I draw nearer,
I can that its small,
Its blood and its fear,
Its nothing at all.

By Shawnna Burt

Leave a Reply

